top of page

How to help the BLACK LIVES MATTER Movement


The past few days have been really tough. Ever since learning about the death of George Floyd I’ve gone through a rollercoaster of emotions. I have felt deeply saddened, confused, upset, disgusted.


I reposted and shared a few graphics, videos, and articles on social media however I realized that is not enough. In the past I have hesitated to address the subject because I was always afraid of saying the wrong thing, or having my opinions be taken in the wrong way. But I now know that silence is destructive to the cause. I want to recognize my privilege and use my voice to speak up for those who can’t. I am making a commitment to continue educating myself while defending our black community. It is 2020 and racism is REAL and ALIVE. I can’t stay silent for any longer. We must take a stand for what is right.

I wanted to put together a list of resources we can all use to help out. There are several donation funds available and organizations you can support. If you are unable to donate due to your financial state, I challenge you to not only educate yourself, but educate your loved ones. Have these “uncomfortable” conversations with your friends and family. Maybe they will make a change if they hear it coming from you.

At the end of the day, we are all human beings. We all bleed the same blood. We all have the right to life and we shouldn’t have to live in fear because of the color of our skin. Our Pledge of Allegiance states “one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all” however that justice will not be found until police brutality and systemic racism are put to an end.

I understand that I will never understand. However, I stand with you.”

Who to donate to:

· George Floyd Memorial Fund

The official Gofundme for the Floyd family

· Minnesota Freedom Fund

Supports black youth led movements

· Black Visions Collective

Supports black liberation

· National Police Accountability Project


Petitions to sign:

· Change.org – Sign to have the officers involved fired and arrested.

· Color of Change – Sign to demand the officers who killed George Floyd be charged with murder. https://act.colorofchange.org/sign/justiceforfloyd_george_floyd_minneapolis

· MoveOn – Over 400,000 have signed to demand the officers are charged with murder.

Films/shows/documentaries to watch:

· When They See Us - Ava Duvernay (Available on Netflix)

· The Hate U Give – George Tillman Jr. (Available on Hulu)

· Dear White People – Justin Simien (Available on Netflix)

· 13th – Ava Duvernay (Available on Netflix)

· If Beale Street Could Talk – Barry Jenkins (Available on Hulu)

Podcasts to listen to:

· Code Switch by NPR

· Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast

· Intersectionality Matters! Hosted by Kimberle Crenshaw

· Pod Save The People by Crooked Media


Books to read:

· How To Be An Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi

· I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

· So You Want to Talk About Race by Ijeoma Oluo

· Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde

· White Fragility: Why It’s So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism by Robin Diangelo, PHD

Organizations to follow on social media:

@colorofchange

@blklivesmatter

@campaignzero

@blackfutureslab

@naacp

@blackvisionscollective

@reclaimtheblock


87 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page